It is all change for the reigning DTM manufacturers’ champions as for 2014 the brand new BMW M4 DTM will take the place of the successful BMW M3 DTM. The 2013 car went out on a high as, when Timo Glock won the final race of the season, this was the 51st victory of the BMW M3 in the prestigious touring car series.

Add to that the fact that Marco Wittmann was the Rookie of the Year, Augusto Farfus was second in the drivers’ title race and BMW, with five wins, was on the top step of the podium more than either of its competitors, and it is obvious it was a good year for BMW Motorsport in the DTM.

bmw m4 dtm cars 08 750x499

While for the third year after its comeback to the series BMW will be fielding four teams — BMW Team MTEK, BMW Team RBM, BMW Team RMG and BMW Team Schnitzer — there have been a couple of changes to its driver line-up. Farfus, Joey Hand, Bruno Spengler and Martin Tomczyk will be there for a third season each, while Glock and Wittmann a second, but Maxime Martin, who is being elevated from test and development driver, and António Félix da Costa will be making their DTM debuts.