The selection process for the 2016 World Car of the Year awards has begun, and once again there will be separate categories: best car overall, best performance, luxury, environment and design cars. To be eligible, the cars must be new and available for sale on at least two continents during the time period between January 1, 2015 and May 31, 2016.

Top three finalists will be announced at next year’s Geneva Motor Show before the winners are named at next year’s New York Auto Show. Last year’s winners included the Mercedes-Benz C-Class (world), Mercedes S-Class (luxury), Mercedes-AMG GT (performance), BMW i8 (green) and Citroën C4 Cactus (design).


Once again, BMW is well represented in the initial batch with the new BMW X1, X5 M and X6 M SUVs, the new 7 Series, the 330e hybrid and the 2 Series Convertible.

Here is the full list:

2016 World Car of the Year nominees

Audi A4
Cadillac CT6
Chevrolet Malibu
Ford Edge
Honda HR-V
Hyundai Creta
Hyundai Tucson
Jaguar XE
Kia Optima
Land Rover Discovery Sport
Mazda CX-3
Mazda MX-5
Mercedes-Benz GLC
Nissan Maxima
Opel Astra
Skoda Superb
SSangYong Tivoli
Subaru Levorg
Subaru Outback
Toyota Prius
Volkswagen Touran

2016 World Performance Car of the Year nominees

Audi R8 Coupe
Audi RS 3 Sportback
BMW X5 M and X6 M
Cadillac ATS-V
Cadillac CTS-V
Chevrolet Camaro
Honda Civic Type R
Land Rover Range Rover Sport SVR
Mercedes-AMG C63 Coupe

2016 World Luxury Car of the Year nominees

Audi Q7
Bentley Mulsanne Speed
BMW 7-Series
Infiniti Q30
Jaguar XF
Lexus RX
Mercedes-Benz GLE Coupe
Volvo XC90

2016 World Green Car of the Year nominees

BMW 330e
Chevrolet Volt
Mercedes-Benz C350e
Nissan Murano Hybrid
Nissan X-Trail Hybrid
Toyota Mirai
Toyota Prius
Volkswagen Passat GTE

2016 World Design Car of the Year nominees

Audi Q7
Audi R8 Coupe
BMW 2-Series Convertible
BMW 7-Series
Hyundai Creta
Mercedes-Benz C-Class Coupe