In the first race since Marco Wittmann (DE) was crowned DTM Drivers’ champion, BMW Team RMG sealed the Team title in Zandvoort (NL). Team principal Stefan Reinhold’s (DE) outfit ended the penultimate race of the season with Wittmann in second place – his fifth podium of the year – and sixth place for Maxime Martin (BE, SAMSUNG BMW M4 DTM). With 193 points to its name, BMW Team RMG now goes into the season finale in Hockenheim (DE) with an unassailable lead. Martin is also assured of the “Rookie of the Year” title, making him the successor to team-mate and new DTM champion Wittmann.

At the end of a turbulent 43-lap race at the “Circuit Park Zandvoort”, with four safety car periods, Wittmann brought the Ice-Watch BMW M4 DTM home 7.4 seconds behind winner Mattias Ekström (SE, Audi). Third place went to Martin Tomczyk (DE) in the BMW M Performance Parts M4 DTM. The BMW Team Schnitzer driver stepped onto the podium for the first time since the race at the Nürburgring in 2012.

2014 dtm bmw title 7 750x499

The remaining BMW drivers missed out on the points. Bruno Spengler (CA) crossed the finish line eighth in the BMW Bank M4 DTM, but was handed a penalty for a collision shortly before the end of the race and has thus been classified in 17th place. Joey Hand (US) made a good start in the Crowne Plaza Hotels BMW M4 DTM, but was unable to hang on to a top-ten position. The American had to settle for 11th. BMW Team MTEK drivers Timo Glock (DE, DEUTSCHE POST BMW M4 DTM) and António Félix da Costa (PT, Red Bull BMW M4 DTM) came home 13th and 14th. Glock was unfortunate when his car remained stationary at the start of the installation lap and had to start the race from the very back of the grid.

The race was over after just 18 laps for last year’s winner Augusto Farfus (BR). His Castrol EDGE BMW M4 DTM was hit from behind by a rival and spun off into the barriers. Farfus was unhurt, but had to leave his car in the gravel bed.

2014 dtm bmw title 1 750x499

Jens Marquardt (BMW Motorsport Director):
“That was an extremely eventful race. The many safety car periods made it difficult to keep track of what was going on at times. We were constantly having to change our strategy, and the last few laps came down to a sprint. We are obviously happy to have two drivers on the podium. Marco Wittmann and Martin Tomczyk produced great performances and kept cool heads at all times. I am particularly pleased for Martin. He earned his reward for all his hard work today. At the same time, he confirmed the continuous improvement in his performances in recent races, and ended his long wait for a podium. Maxime Martin also had a great race and has already earned the title of ‘Rookie of the Year’. We are also delighted for BMW Team RMG, who won the Team competition today with one race to go. Congratulations to Mattias Ekström and Audi on their win.”


Facts and figures from Zandvoort:  

Circuit / DateZandvoort, 28th September 2014
Laps / Distance43 laps, 4.307 km
2014 Pole TimeMike Rockenfeller (DE), 1:30.713 minutes
2014 WinnerMattias Ekström (SE), Audi
2014 Fastest LapMarco Wittmann (DE), 1:32.441 minutes


TeamBMW Team RBMBMW Team RBMBMW Team SchnitzerBMW Team SchnitzerBMW Team MTEKBMW Team MTEKBMW Team RMGBMW Team RMG
Practice 110th6th7th19th3rd20th1st12th
Practice 217th22nd8th12th5th19th13th15th
2014 points397424333414647
Current position11th20th9th8th14th21st1st6th
Weights+7.5kg+2.5kg+5kg+7.5kg+5 kg+/-0kg+7.5kg+7.5kg


DTM standings after 9 of 10 races.  

Drivers’ Championship.

1. Marco Wittmann (146 points), 2. Mattias Ekström (81), 3. Christian Vietoris (69), 4. Edoardo Mortara (68), 5. Mike Rockenfeller (54), 6. Maxime Martin (47), 7. Pascal Wehrlein (46), 8. Martin Tomczyk (43), 9. Bruno Spengler (42), 10. Robert Wickens (39), 11. Augusto Farfus (39), 12. Adrien Tambay (36), 13. Timo Scheider (35), 14. Timo Glock (33), 15. Miguel Molina (28), 16. Jamie Green (28), 17. Daniel Juncadella (26), 18. Paul di Resta (24), 19. Nico Müller (10), 20. Joey Hand (7), 21. António Félix da Costa (4), 22. Gary Paffett (4). 

Team Championship.

1. BMW Team RMG (193 points), 2. Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline (109), 3. Audi Sport Team Abt (104),  4. Original-Teile Mercedes AMG (93), 5. Audi Sport Team Phoenix (89), 6. BMW Team Schnitzer (85), 7. gooix Mercedes AMG (46), 8. BMW Team RBM (46), 9. EURONICS / FREE MAN’S WORLD Mercedes AMG (43) , 10. Audi Sport Team Rosberg (38), 11. BMW Team MTEK (37), 12. Petronas Mercedes AMG (26). 

Manufacturers’ Championship.

1. BMW (361 Punkte), 2. Audi (340), 3. Mercedes-Benz (208). 

2014 calendar.
4th May – Hockenheim (DE), 18th May – Oschersleben (DE), 1st June – Budapest (HU), 29th June – Norisring (DE), 13th July – Moscow (RU), 3rd August – Spielberg (AT), 17th August – Nürburgring (DE), 14th September – Lausitzring (DE), 28th September – Zandvoort (NL), 19th October – Hockenheim (DE).