Augusto Farfus (BR) is back on the top step of the podium: the BMW Team RBM driver produced a flawless race in Oschersleben (DE) to win the eighth race of the DTM season, coming home 6.298 seconds ahead of Mike Rockenfeller (DE, Audi). The 30-year-old laid the foundations for his victory at the start, when he got away cleanly from second on the grid to pass Jamie Green (GB, Audi) and take the lead by the time he reached the first corner. It was the 57th win for BMW Motorsport in the DTM and the 49th for the BMW M3. Farfus celebrated his third victory in the popular touring car series, and his second of the season.

In the Drivers’ Championship, Farfus moves up to second on 91 points after his third podium in a row. He is now the only driver still with a mathematical chance of catching championship leader Rockenfeller (124). BMW was able to retain its lead in the Manufacturers’ Championship with 276 points, ahead of Audi (267) and Mercedes-Benz (237).


It was an eventful race for the remaining BMW drivers, and particularly reigning champion Bruno Spengler (CA). The BMW Team Schnitzer driver made an outstanding start from sixth on the grid, immediately making up three places. Over the course of the race, however, he was unable to match the pace of the leaders in his BMW Bank M3 DTM and was forced to retire 11 laps from the end following a collision with Robert Wickens (CA, Mercedes).

Martin Tomczyk (DE) made a jump start from eighth on the grid, resulting in a drive-through penalty that saw the BMW Team RMG driver drop well back down the field. Tomczyk, at the wheel of the BMW M Performance Parts M3 DTM, eventually retired from the race shortly before the end with technical problems.

Marco Wittmann (DE, Ice-Watch BMW M3 DTM), Dirk Werner (DE, SAMSUNG BMW M3 DTM), Timo Glock (DE, DEUTSCHE POST BMW M3 DTM), Joey Hand (US, BMW M3 DTM) and Andy Priaulx (GB, Crowne Plaza Hotels BMW M3 DTM) also missed out on the points, coming home 12th, 13th, 15th, 16th and 19th respectively. Hand did set the fastest lap of the race, clocking a time of 1:21.255 minutes on lap 14.


Jens Marquardt (BMW Motorsport Director):

“That was a fantastic performance from Augusto Farfus and BMW Team RBM in an incredibly intense race. It is a great feeling to have one of our drivers back on the top step of the podium. This is Augusto’s third podium in a row and his second win of the year. That is very impressive. Behind him, the race was extremely turbulent at times. Given our grid positions, we should obviously have had one or two more cars in the points. We will now analyse that in greater detail. For now, however, we are celebrating our third win of the season, thanks to Augusto and BMW Team RBM.”

Note to the editors: A second press release will be issued shortly, including further statements from the four BMW team principals and the drivers about the race.

Facts and figures from Oschersleben:

Circuit / dateMotorsport Arena Oschersleben, 15th September 2013
Lap / distance51 laps, 3.696 km
2013 pole positionJamie Green (GB), 1:20.263 minutes
2013 winnerAugusto Farfus (BR), BMW
2013 fastest lapJoey Hand (US), 1:21.255 minutes


TeamBMW Team SchnitzerBMW Team SchnitzerBMW Team RBMBMW Team RBMBMW Team RMGBMW Team RMGBMW Team MTEKBMW Team MTEK
Free practice11th2nd17th19th12th15th14th13th
2013 points672691261023915
Current position5th10th2nd11th17th22nd8th15th


Standings after 8 of 10 races.  

Drivers’ standings.
1. Mike Rockenfeller (124 points), 2. Augusto Farfus (91), 3. Christian Vietoris (71), 4. Robert Wickens (70), 5. Bruno Spengler (67), 6. Gary Paffett (65), 7. Mattias Ekström (44), 8. Marco Wittmann (39), 9. Jamie Green (35), 10. Dirk Werner (26), 11. Joey Hand (26), 11. Adrien Tambay (22), 13. Timo Scheider (22), 14. Daniel Juncadella (20), 15. Timo Glock (15), 16. Filipe Albuquerque (12), 17. Martin Tomczyk (10), 18. Roberto Merhi (8), 19., Miguel Molina (8), 20. Edoardo Mortara (3), 21. Pascal Wehrlein (3), 22. Andy Priaulx (2). 

Team standings.
1. STIHL / AMG Mercedes (141 points), 2. Audi Sport Team Phoenix (132), 3. BMW Team RBM (117), 4. BMW Team Schnitzer (93), 5. Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline (79), 6. EURONICS / THOMAS SABO Mercedes AMG (73), 7. BMW Team MTEK (54), 8. Audi Sport Team Abt (44), 9. stern / AMG Mercedes (23), 10. Audi Sport Team Rosberg (15), 11. BMW Team RMG (12). 

Manufacturers’ standings.
1. BMW (276 points), 2. Audi (267), 3. Mercedes-Benz (237). 

2013 calendar:
5th May – Hockenheim (DE), 19th May – Brands Hatch (GB), 2nd June – Spielberg (AT), 16th June – Lausitzring (DE), 14th July – Norisring (DE), 4th August – Moscow (RU), 18th August – Nürburgring (DE), 15th September – Oschersleben (DE), 29th September – Zandvoort (NL), 20th October – Hockenheim (DE).