Maxime Martin (BE) was the best-placed BMW driver for the second time this year in the third race of the DTM season. The BMW Team RMG driver came home seventh in the SAMSUNG BMW M4 DTM to pick up six points towards the Drivers’ Championship. Martin is now level with fellow BMW drivers Marco Wittmann (DE) and Martin Tomczyk (DE) on 12 points.

Bruno Spengler (CA) narrowly missed out on the top ten, finishing 11th. He was followed over the line by Tomczyk and Wittmann in 12th and 13th. Timo Glock (DE), António Félix da Costa (PT) and Tom Blomqvist (GB) came home 18th, 19th and 22nd. Augusto Farfus (BR) failed to finish. Victory went to Jamie Green (GB) in an Audi.

Reactions to the third race of the 2015 DTM season.


Jens Marquardt (BMW Motorsport Director): “After a difficult qualifying, we had an equally tough race today. One car in the points. That is obviously far from satisfactory. Maxime Martin managed to work his way up into fifth place, but tire problems shortly before the finish meant he was no longer able to match the pace of the leaders without DRS. Our problem is that we cannot get maximum performance out of the tires over the entire distance. We must now analyze why that is.”


Maxime Martin (BMW Team RMG , 7th): “The positive thing is that I finished in the points. However, that is not enough to meet the high standards BMW sets itself. Towards the end of the race, you could see that I was no longer able to match the pace of my rivals. We must work hard to rectify that in the future. Finishing as the best-placed BMW driver for the second time is obviously not a bad record for me. I have far more experience than in 2014 and am doing well. Despite this, we cannot generally be happy at the moment.”

Facts and figures.


Lausitzring, 3.478 kilometres, 40 minutes plus one lap


Cloudy, 16 degrees Celsius

BMW Motorsport results:

No 36 Maxime Martin (BE), BMW Team RMG, SAMSUNG BMW M4 DTM – 7th

No 7 Bruno Spengler (CA), BMW Team MTEK, BMW Bank M4 DTM – 11th

No 77 Martin Tomczyk (DE), BMW Team Schnitzer, BMW M Performance Parts M4 DTM – 12th

No 1 Marco Wittmann (DE), BMW Team RMG, Ice-Watch BMW M4 DTM – 13th

No 16 Timo Glock (DE), BMW Team MTEK, DEUTSCHE POST BMW M4 DTM – 18th

No 13 António Félix da Costa (PT), BMW Team Schnitzer, Red Bull BMW M4 DTM – 19th

No 31 Tom Blomqvist (GB), BMW Team RBM, BMW M4 DTM – 22nd

No 18 Augusto Farfus (BR), BMW Team RBM, Shell BMW M4 DTM – DNF