DTM 2013: Four BMW drivers in the points at a scorching-hot Norisring

Racing | July 14th, 2013 by 3
bmw dtm 2013 01 750x500

The four BMW teams experienced an eventful fifth DTM race at the Norisring (DE) in temperatures soaring to over 30 degrees Celsius. Bruno Spengler (CA), …

The four BMW teams experienced an eventful fifth DTM race at the Norisring (DE) in temperatures soaring to over 30 degrees Celsius. Bruno Spengler (CA), who started the race from second on the grid in the BMW Bank M3 DTM, was the best-placed BMW driver, coming home in sixth. Joey Hand (US, BMW M3 DTM), Andy Priaulx (GB, Crowne Plaza Hotels BMW M3 DTM) and Marco Wittmann (DE, Ice-Watch BMW M3 DTM) finished eighth, ninth and tenth. Over the course of the weekend, 126,000 spectators followed the action live at the Norisring.

Spengler and BMW Team Schnitzer continued an impressive run: the reigning DTM champion has now scored points in each of the past 11 DTM races. BMW Team RMG and Priaulx picked up their first two points of the season. Victory at the Dutzendteich went to Audi driver Mattias Ekström (SE), followed by Mercedes drivers Robert Wickens (CA) and Christian Vietoris (DE).

bmw dtm 2013 07 655x436

Dirk Werner (DE, SAMSUNG BMW M3 DTM) narrowly missed out on a points finish, crossing the line in 11th. Timo Glock (DE, DEUTSCHE POST BMW M3 DTM) and Augusto Farfus (BR, Castrol EDGE BMW M3 DTM) came home in 13th and 16th.

Martin Tomczyk (DE) in the BMW M Performance Parts M3 DTM was once again struck by misfortune at the end of the first half of the season. He retired after 16 laps following a duel with Jamie Green (GB). Up until his retirement, Tomczyk had fought back from 17th on the grid to ninth in the field. The crash caused the second of two safety car periods. A number of rival cars altered their strategy, took a greater risk, and were consequently able to pass the BMW drivers over the course of the race. Therefore, a podium was not to be this time.

Spengler is now second in the Drivers’ Championship on 67 points, just two behind the leader Mike Rockenfeller (DE). In the Manufacturers’ Championship, BMW held onto its lead on 192 points, ahead of Mercedes (177) and Audi (136).

bmw dtm 2013 11 655x436

Jens Marquardt (BMW Motorsport Director):

“We managed to land four cars in the top ten, but cannot be happy with what was a tough race for us. The two safety car phases had a significant influence and opened up certain strategic options. Our approach was not to take too many risks in terms of the race strategy. However, this did not pay off in today’s conditions. Bruno, in sixth, still managed to score more valuable points, and another three BMW M3 DTMs finished in the top ten. The overall standings still do not look bad. Congratulations to Audi and Mattias Ekstrom on their deserved victory.”

Note to the editors: A second press release will be issued shortly, including further statements from the four BMW team principals and the drivers about the race.

Facts and figures Norisring:    

Circuit / date Norisring, 14th July 2013
Laps / distance 83 laps, 2.3 km
2013 pole position Robert Wickens (CA), 48.384 seconds
2013 winner Mattias Ekström (SE)
2013 fastest lap Christian Vietoris (DE), 48.572 seconds


Car number 1 2 7 8 15 16 21 22
Team BMW Team Schnitzer BMW Team Schnitzer BMW Team RBM BMW Team RBM BMW Team RMG BMW Team RMG BMW Team MTEK BMW Team MTEK
Free Practice 1st 20th 12th 11th 10th 9th 15th 17th
Qualifying 2nd 20th 15th 18th 17th 6th 12th 16th
Race 6th 11th 16th 8th 9th 10th 13th
2013 points 67 22 33 20 0 2 33 15
Current position 2nd 9th 7th 11th 18th 8th 12th 

Standings after 5 out of 10 races.  

Drivers’ standings.

1. Mike Rockenfeller (69 points), 2. Bruno Spengler (67), 3. Christian Vietoris (55), 4. Gary Paffett (47), 5. Mattias Ekström (45), 6. Robert Wickens (45), 7. Augusto Farfus (33), 8. Marco Wittmann (33), 9. Dirk Werner (22), 10. Daniel Juncadella (20), 11. Joey Hand (20), 12. Timo Glock (15), 13. Jamie Green (10), 14. Timo Scheider (10), 15. Roberto Merhi (8), 16. Edoardo Mortara (2), 17. Andy Priaulx (2), 18. Pascal Wehrlein (2).

Team standings.

1. STIHL / AMG Mercedes (100 points), 2. BMW Team Schnitzer (89), 3. Audi Sport Team Phoenix (69), 4. EURONICS / THOMAS SABO Mercedes AMG (55), 5. Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline (55), 6. BMW Team RBM (53), 7. BMW Team MTEK (48), 8. stern / AMG Mercedes (22), 9. Audi Sport Team Abt (10),  10. Audi Sport Team Rosberg (2), 11. BMW Team RMG (2).

Manufacturers’ standings.

1. BMW (192 points), 2. Mercedes-Benz (177), 3. Audi (136). 

2013 calendar.

5th May – Hockenheim (DE), 19th May – Brands Hatch (GB), 2nd June – Spielberg (AT), 16th June – Lausitzring (DE), 14th July – Norisring (DE), 4th August – Moscow (RU), 18th August – Nürburgring (DE), 15th September – Oschersleben (DE), 29th September – Zandvoort (NL), 20th October – Hockenheim (DE).