BMW’s Bruno Spengler wins the second DTM race at the Norisring

Racing | July 7th, 2019 by 2
BMW DTM Bruno Spengler 830x553

BMW’s Bruno Spengler wins the second DTM race at the Norisring to end a two-year victory drought. Spengler took the lead in the opening lap of the race and stayed in control throughout the entire race. After the first lap, Spengler settled into a comfortable lead before serving his pitstop at the end of lap 32 of 70. This was Spengler’s first win since 2017.

Second place went to Jamie Green of the Rosber Audi team followed by two other Audis of the Phoenix and Abt team.

P90350428 highRes zolder bel 19th may  830x553

Fifth place was grabbed by Philipp Eng, aboard the. RMR BMW M4 DTM racing car.

Timo Glock also had a good race, started 17th after he stopped on track in qualifying but battled to ninth in his Team RMR BMW.

Eng and Spengler currently rank 3rd and 4th, respectively, in the drivers’ championship.

1 Bruno Spengler RMG BMW 70 56m15.610s
2 Jamie Green Rosberg Audi 70 5.765s
3 Mike Rockenfeller Phoenix Audi 70 6.833s
4 Robin Frijns Abt Audi 70 11.695s
5 Philipp Eng RMR BMW 70 16.365s
6 Loic Duval Phoenix Audi 70 17.590s
7 Rene Rast Rosberg Audi 70 25.480s
8 Nico Muller Abt Audi 70 29.080s
9 Timo Glock RMR BMW 70 33.536s
10 Daniel Juncadella R-Motorsport Aston Martin 70 37.941s
11 Ferdinand Habsburg R-Motorsport Aston Martin 70 39.516s
12 Jake Dennis R-Motorsport Aston Martin 69 1 Lap
13 Joel Eriksson RBM BMW 69 1 Lap
14 Jonathan Aberdein WRT Audi 69 1 Lap
15 Pietro Fittipaldi Rosberg Audi 68 2 Laps
16 Marco Wittmann RMG BMW 64 6 Laps
Sheldon van der Linde RBM BMW 51 Retirement
Paul Di Resta R-Motorsport Aston Martin 44 Retirement