36 cars have lodged full-season entries of the 2010 FIA GT3 European Championship.

The entry list, made up of 18 teams fielding two cars each, will feature 10 different models from eight manufacturers when the first round kicks off at Silverstone on 2 May.

2010 will see championship debuts for two new models, the BMW Z4 GT3 and Ford Mustang Marc VDS GT3. The Need for Speed by Schubert Motorsport team will field a pair of Z4s, while Marc VDS Racing, which is also running a programme in the new GT1 World Championship, will field two Mustangs having helped to build American the cars.

The ten cars that will take part in the FIA GT3 European Championship are:

FIA GT3 BMW Z4 GT3 Schubert 2 655x436

• Aston Martin DBRS9
• Audi R8 LMS
• BMW Alpina B6 GT3
• BMW Z4 GT3
• Corvette Z06R GT3
• Ferrari 430 Scuderia
• Ford GT
• Ford Mustang Marc VDS GT3
• Lamborghini Gallardo LP560
• Porsche 911 GT3 R

The cars competing in the FIA GT3 European Championship have their performance balanced by the Bureau of the FIA GT Committee.  All cars are fitted with a data logging system and the data is at the disposal of the Bureau.

The following items can be adjusted in order to achieve that balance of performance:
• the characteristic of the rear aerodynamic device (wing)
• the minimum weight of the car
• the air restrictors
• the capacity of the fuel tank
• the ride height
• the width of the wheels

Once the tests are complete, the cars will be similar in performance so that the championship can allow the teams and drivers equal opportunity to stand on the podium at each of the six events held in 2010.

Each of the six events will feature two 1-hour races and they will be held at –
• Silverstone (GBR)
• Brno (CZE)
• Jarama (ESP)**
• Paul Ricard (FRA)
• Algarve (POR)
• Zolder (BEL)

[Source: GT3Europe ]